THE AGAHI AWARDS 2013: news in health



Uploaded by:- Puruesh Chaudhary (7750860@N02) @ 2013-09-21 05:45:40

Journalists compete in more than 50 different categories; AGAHI Awards encourages best content in print, television, radio and online journalism.

Pakistan’s most prestigious journalism “Agahi Awards 2013” celebrated today at PNCA Islamabad. The Awards have been organized in collaboration with leading press clubs, local and international media development institutions, regulatory authorities, civil society organizations, private sector and other stakeholders. Puruesh Chaudhary Founder & President, AGAHI and Amir Jahangir Chief Executive Officer, Mishal Pakistan founded these awards in 2012.
The Agahi Awards are an annual series of awards for journalism in Pakistan, developed under the umbrella of the Credibility Lab at Mishal for creating an appreciation methodology for ethical and quality content. The evaluation methodology and criteria of the awards have been designed on the pillars of Media Development Indicators of UNESCO, in collaboratiosn with the Center for International Media Ethics (CIME) and UNESCO headquarters in Paris. The Awards were inaugurated in March 2012 and have become the most prestigious awards for the journalism in Pakistan.

The Awards have created appreciation for journalism in fifty different categories including business and economy, conflict, corruption, crime, education, infotainment, the nexus between water, energy and food security, gender and governance, health, extremism and terrorism, peace, interfaith, dignity; thus creating media diversity across print, television, radio and the online media.

Among the winners for this year’s “Agahi Awards 2013, the Journalist of the Year Award” were deigned in 50 categories. The award for business and economy was won by Naveen Mangi (Bloomberg), Maliha Naz Rana from Herald in Health and Primary Education, Shakeel Ahmad (DAWN News) Higher Education and Training, Zahir Shah Sherazi (DAWN News) in Infrastructure, Abdur Rauf (Express Tribune) for Institutions, Maimoona Saeed (GEO News) forLabor Market Efficiency, Ghulam Mohiuddin (AAJ TV) for Environment,Shabina Faraz (Jang) in Climate Change, Zahid Gishkori (Express Tribune) in Flood and Disaster Reporting, Sehrish Wasif (Express Tribune) in Disaster and Catastrophe, Xari Jalil (DAWN) in Governance, A.B. Arisar (DAWN) in Corruption, Asad Kharal (Express Tribune) forLaw &Order, Hanif Samoon ( in Health,Din Muhammad Watanpal (Daily Qudrat, Quetta) forChild Survival, Sarwar Baloch (VSH News) in Health&Nutrition, Ali Usman (Express Tribune) forNon Communicable Diseases, Zia ur Rehman (Friday Times) for Polio Immunization, Aslam Chandio (Online News Agency) forEnergy, Water &Food Security, Sarah Munir (Express Tribune) on Media Ethics,Syed Ali Shah (DAWN News) forMedia Safety, Ashraf Javed (The Nation)for Crime Reporting, Shahzada Irfan Ahmad (The News) forCorporate Social Responsibility, Zahir Shah Sherazi (DAWN News) in Democratic Values and Dignity, Bina Shah (Blogger) in Education, Zia ur Rehman (Friday Times) for Extremism and Terrorism,Shahzada Irfan Ahmad (The News) in Gender,A.B. Arrisar (DAWN) in Gender – Economic Opportunity, Abdul Shakoor (APP) in Gender – Health and Survival, Zia Ur Rehman (Friday Times) in Gender – Political Empowerment, Aamir Saeed (Pique Magazine) forHuman Rights,Fazal Khaliq (Express Tribune) in Child Protection, Kiran Nazish ( forChild Rights, A.B. Arisar in Gender – Domestic Violence, Zia ur Rehman (Friday Times) in Minorities &Marginalized Communities, Mehtab Haider (The News) in Political &Regularity Environment, Jawwad Rizvi (The News) in Market Environment, Faseeh Mangi (Bloomberg) in Infotainment,Mubashar Zaidi ( in Journalism for Peace,Muhammad Irfan Haider (Dawn) forConflict Reporting, Asad Kharal (Express Tribune) in Judiciary,Zeeshan Anwar (Daily Express) in Court Reporting, Zahir Shah Sherazi ( in Photo Journalism,Aslam Chandio (Online News Agency) in sports.
The awards ceremony was presented by Osama Bin Javaid, a Pakistani journalist based in the Middle East and Razeshta Sethna, par of the editorial team at a leading English language publication in Pakistan. The Awards also have special categories including“Current Affairs Anchor of the Year” and “News Channel of the Year” in Pakistan. These categories are on the basis of people’s choice, which includes voting for these two categories by reaching out to more than 6 million Pakistanis through social media engagement and 1.5 million via SMS campaign and direct feedback.

GEO NEWS won the Peoples’ Choice Award for the “Most Favourite News Channel” second year around.
The “Current Affairs Anchor of the Year” Award was for two emerging anchors; won by Iqrar ul Hassan (ARY News) and Alia Nazki (BBC Urdu), as “the Emerging Current Affair Anchor of the Year” in the male and female categories. “Investigative Journalist of the Year” award was won by Asad Kharal (Express Tribune).
Ejaz Haider from Capital TV awarded the “Most Credible Anchor” based on the Media Credibility Index developed in collaboration with more than 10 journalism schools in Pakistan.
To ensure diversity in content and more social issues to be highlighted in media, Mishal Pakistan in collaboration with Save the Childrencreated the health category further dividing them into six sub-categories. This has not only increased the quantum of health content in media, but has also encouraged journalists to write more on the socio-economic challenges in Pakistan.
This year AGAHI Awards received an overwhelming response by the journalist community, where more than 1500 nominations were received from all over the country across more than 50 different categories in print, television, radio and online content.

Academic partners for Agahi Awards 2013 from the disciplines of journalism and mass communication included;Fatima Jinnah Women University (Rawalpindi), AllamaIqbal Open University (Islamabad), BahauddinZakariya University (Multan), International Islamic University (Islamabad), Islamia University (Bahawalpur), University of Gujrat, National University of Science and Technology (Islamabad), Roskilde University (Denmark), Center for Media Pluralism and Media Freedom atEuropean University (Italy).
Press Clubs in Lahore, Peshawar, Karachi, Multan, and the National Press Club along with the Kashmir Press Club (Mirpur) and the Tribal Union of Journalists, Center for International Media Ethics, Ethical Journalism Network, Media Helping Media, Save the Children, Devex, International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Press Council of Pakistan, Internews Network, Center for Investigative Journalism (Bosina-Sarajevo), Transnational Crisis Project, Hayward Black Media, MediaShift, P@sha have partnered to ensure making the journalism awards at par with international standard of journalism.

Mishal Pakistan is the country partner Institute of the Center for Global Competitiveness and Benchmarking Networks at the World Economic Forum. Established in 2003, Mishal has been engaged with key stakeholders in Pakistan to improve the state of media through good governance initiatives.

About Robert,Sophia,Isabella

Check Also

Science of Nutrition, The

Price: (as of – Details) Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pearson; 5th edition (January 4, 2019) …